Warming up…

Session 2: Soles and Somes

The kids were excited and chatted happily.  Usually all at the same time, so that hearing and following was difficult!  They were thrilled that I ‘remembered’ their names and could greet them one by one.  In reality, I had written them all down and sought assistance in how to pronounce them!  Everyone from last week came back plus a few more.  The technician who was present last week was at another SOLE this week and there was a different dynamic  with no adult present.  Or perhaps they were just more relaxed the second time around.  Several times during the session, they moved the webcam around so that my view was choppy or I found myself looking at the tops of their heads, a close-up hand or even the ceiling.  On the plus side, they figured out how to call me back when we lost connection and how to turn the video back on, when it went off a few times.  On my end, I have worked out how to share partial screen only, so that I can still see their reactions to what I show them.

Most of what I planned didn’t really work or was abandoned en route as it didn’t feel right.  I need to remind myself that this isn’t a class, and the plan doesn’t matter!  It’s about making a connection with these cute kids and what we can learn from each other.  They seem to relish the interaction with someone so different from them and I love the  opportunity to engage with kids in a setting so different from my usual one.  Already, after the second session, I am beginning to feel more comfortable and to see how, in spite of all the differences, they are in many ways just like the kids I teach.  There was one point at which we were simply making faces at each other (it started by accident) and laughing together… and one girl spontaneously said ‘You’re so nice, Ma’am’.  I’ll be back!

3 thoughts on “Warming up…

  1. I commend you on working on the kids names. I have found in my teaching career that the single best way to win a child over is to remember their names and call them by name. I have students who I taught years ago who tell me how special it is that I still remember their names.
    I predict that the third time will be the charm and everything will start falling into place and feel natural. I look forward to reading about it!

    Like

  2. I worked in India for 18 months at an NGO. Just as anywhere, learning names was vital to get the kids on side. The names were tricky and, even at the end, I’m not sure I was getting the correct pronunciations – some sounds were so subtle! And it didn’t help at the start that a number of children played tricks on the dumb foreigner by mixing up their names! Rascals!

    Great blog, Edna. I’m learning lots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

