3-2-1 Bridge

In a recent post, I reflected on how my beliefs about teaching and learning have changed, using the thinking routine ‘I used to think… Now I think...’

Another challenging thinking routine from Project Zero is 3-2-1 Bridge, which like the previous one, reveals the development of thinking over time.  Students express their initial thoughts, questions and ideas about a topic, then later make connections with their new thinking, after further learning has taken place.

Here’s my thinking on the subject of Twitter, using this routine… (Note: If you’re new to the whole Twitter idea, start by reading  this post instead)

BEFORE

Thoughts:

  • Lots of chat about nothing in 140 characters
  • Pointless drivel about people’s everyday lives
  • Hardly anything  that I could  benefit from

Questions:

  • Why would I care what strangers eat for breakfast?
  • What purpose could there possibly be in joining this conversation?

Analogy:

  • Twitter is like rummaging through the rubbish in case you find a gem.

AFTER

Thoughts:

  • It’s the most valuable PD I’ve ever had.
  • An opportunity to meet, learn, interact, collaborate, discover, uncover…
  • A vital connection with educators around the world. My PLN.

Questions:

  • Why didn’t I realise the value of it sooner?
  • How can I encourage other educators to get involved in the conversation?

Analogy:

  • It’s like a perpetual round-the-world flight … it takes me to interesting destinations, exposes me to new things and allows me to meet people from different places, while interacting with all sorts of people who get on and off at points along the way.

BRIDGE (What caused the shift in thinking?)

  • I realised that one can follow topics, not just individuals. I discovered many talented and generous educators this way and have discovered an incredible array of links, tools and resources.
  • I discovered hashtags, in particular #edchat.  Although I have only been able to participate a few times, due to the time difference, the Educators’ PLN who communicate through that hashtag is inspirational.
  • I found I could ask for help and receive it from anywhere in the world instantaneously. For instance I recently asked if anyone could recommend an interactive timeline tool. Within a few minutes, my PLN had suggested at least 6 possibilities for me to investigate, with their comments to assist my decision.
  • I have established a network of educators with whom to collaborate in a variety of exciting ways.  For instance:
  1. This week I will be in Singapore for a conference and have arranged to visit another PYP school, through @KlBeasley, a PYP educator too.
  2. @MaggieSwitz has set up a connection between our Yr 2’s and hers.  For them it’s part of a much bigger project, while for us it’s a small step in the right direction, but the connections she makes for her school are an inspiration to us.
  3. @Blabberize have commented on our Year 5 class wiki, because I tweeted about the way they had used Blabberize to demonstrate their learning.  They have  linked to the class wiki from their blog, which is thrilling for the students who created the work.
  4. I met @ktenkely who invited bloggers to join a blogging alliance, through which I have connected with other educational bloggers, which has added another whole dimension to the blogging conversation.

And I could go on and on…

Here’s my first post about Twitter from November last year.  I had already begun to see the value at that point… and I’ve come a long way since!

My intention was to use Twitter as an example to apply the 3-2-1 Bridge routine.  I seem to have got a bit carried away🙂 … Clearly I am highly enthused by the PLN with whom I have connected through Twitter!

Unplanned series of posts based on Project Zero Thinking Routines #4


Share

6 thoughts on “3-2-1 Bridge

  1. Edna, I love all your posts about the PZ thinking routines, and can definitely identify with this journey you have gone through with Twitter – I have gone the same route as you. I guess we have now both sifted out the rubbish and found those gems – every day I get inspired by brilliant educators around the world who generously share their ideas. This has been a tough year for me, moving from Asia back to Europe and it is the contacts and conversations with the members of my PLN who have encouraged me to move forward and make a difference here in my new school. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Your blogs are really inspiring… I’m very proud of you.

    Most teachers who have been in the classroom as long as you have, have forgotten how to learn. You have always listened and learned and now you are sharing that in a beautiful way. You don’t teach a subject, you teach people- and your students appreciate that and shine.

    Like

  3. I love that you don’t just give us a thinking routine but model it for the rest of us to see. My Twitter thinking routine is so similar it is eerie! Once again, a fabulous post that has me thinking about my own thinking (oh yeah, and how to use these thinking routines with students). Thank you!

    Like

  4. Ed, that’s how I felt about Twitter, too. And do now. I resisted it for an age, thinking I was going to be wasting my days reading about what someone is eating for lunch, but it has turned out to be one of the best things in my professional life in a long time!

    Like

  5. I stumbled on this blogg as I goggled examples of the 3-2-1 routine. I started using the routine ‘ I used to think but now I think ‘ with Preps and decided to use the 321 in our next unit. I love the routines and the opportunity to make our learning visible. I am now a fan and look forward to reading your blog on a regular basis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

