Blogs that made me think this week…

Reading blogs and writing my own blog have played a vital role in my learning in the past year. I wonder how teachers who aren’t regularly reading educational blogs are keeping abreast of change, extending their thinking and further developing their understandings. Each week I discover blogs that push my thinking in new directions, make me reflect on my own practice, introduce me to new ideas or new tools, direct me to other resources… or simply make me smile at the knowledge that I am part of a huge community of teachers and learners with similar experiences, issues, problems, highs and lows.
Some blogs that made me think this week…

Corey has started an initiative in which he calls for nominations on a particular theme of education blog each week, creates a poll and then features the ‘winning’ blog. His goal (see details here) is to highlight EdBlogs and encourage bloggers to support each other. I was honoured to be featured this week! It got me thinking (again!) about the power and generosity of the online educator community. It never ceases to amaze me how educators help, encourage, support and promote each other, through blogs and Twitter.

Blogging in the Primary Classroom by @oliverquinlan

I have only recently discovered this thoughtful blog and still need to catch up on Oliver’s past posts. His latest post deals with physical classroom space and  he sums it up by saying ‘the thinking on innovative use of space should start with pedagogy not practicality,’ and adds that it should be about the learning, not the teaching. It made me think about how many teachers arrange their rooms in a way that’s practical for them, or allows for better ‘teacher control’ (!) rather than to facilitate learning. (I think this will be a future post for me, thanks Oliver!)

Clive in Sri Lanka by @CliveSir

I’m loving this blog (although I wish he wouldn’t talk about me), not just for what Clive shares about his teaching in Sri Lanka, but for the connection to another colorful world and culture. I’m not even sure how I first discovered it, but I have since been interacting with Clive and am interested in the development of his classes for computer teachers. Clive worked as an engineer for more than twenty years, before setting off to volunteer in the developing world. My own children have volunteered in India and Ecuador respectively and it’s something I would like to do myself one day, so his story resonates for me. I am also fascinated by what brings people to teaching, in it’s various forms, and what they get out of it as well as what they put in.

I’d love to hear about some blogs that made you think this week…

Series of posts: Blogs that made me think this week.. #2

Blogs that made me think this week #1

Share

4 thoughts on “Blogs that made me think this week…

  1. Hard to pick favourites – I have quite a long list! Recently I’d say Eric Sheninger and Sacha Chua. For some personal favourites – I keep a useful reading list for staff at my school.

    Useful Reading

    Like

  2. Hi Edna- Thank you for the mention. Its been really enlightening doing the edBlog project, getting opinions about high quality blogs from my PLN and then watching how people select. There are so many great blogs and a lot people can easily get caught up in the rapid fire microblogging of Twitter that they may not take the time to read more in depth ideas. Great blog, and congrats again on the online educator community selecting yours.

    Like

  3. I am also a big fan of reading blogs (I haven’t got to do it as much as I would like recently). Thanks for sharing these great ones that made you think. I also wonder how people who don’t read the ideas of others are growing. I started mine simply for reflecting on what was going on in my classroom, and I am so glad to have grown in the process.

    Like

Leave a Reply

