#RSCON3: A tiny piece of education?

In a recent post I wrote about the timely reminders I had in India, that my version is just a tiny piece of the reality of education in the world. It’s easy to get so involved in your own environment that you forget to think about what education looks like under different conditions. Partly as a result of my experiences this past past week, I have decided to change my topic and prepare a new presentation for the Reform Symposium Conference this weekend.

RSCON3 is an incredible opportunity for educators from all over the world to learn together. I love its energy, diversity and inclusiveness.

On the other hand, we sometimes exist inside our own bubble and forget that education looks very different in other contexts, both in our own countries and around the world. There are millions of educators who don’t have the language or the resources to be included in a conference such as ours.

So… What might schools look like in developing countries? What sorts of learning opportunities exist outside of schools? How do people attempt to make a difference to children’s learning and children’s futures? What inspires such people?

I am definitely not an expert. My knowledge and ideas come from reading, from listening, from talking to people and from short visits to places here and there. On my recent visit to India I had a chance to see and feel different ways of educating the very poor. Some caring, attention yields amazing results, despite the lack of resources. I’d like to share my experiences and thoughts with you, provoke some thinking and perhaps inspire some action. I’d love to hear from people with more knowledge and more experience than I have. Together we can consider ways to develop student awareness and social conscience too.

I hope to increase awareness that the way most of us see education on a daily basis is just a tiny piece of education in the world.

Click here to join me on Sunday 10am Melbourne time… That’s Saturday night in some parts of the world! For other time zones, click here. (Once you click, you will need to enter your name and wait for the session to open.)

See you there!

 

Share

Leave a Reply

