10 tweets that don’t add value…

I’ve extolled the virtues of Twitter as a tool for connecting, learning and collaborating on many an occasion.

A mere ten minutes on Twitter often yields interesting links, book recommendations, thoughtful conversations, opportunities to collaborate, ideas that push one’s thinking…

Live Twitter chats, usually fast and furious, often add another dimension to the learning, as like minded (or better still, differently minded) educators bounce ideas back and forth.

I’ve watched the part Twitter has played in the learning of a young teacher I mentored last year and wondered how educators who don’t connect via social media can hope to keep up.

Sometimes a bit of light Twitter conversation and banter can be fun too!

But then there are tweets that add little, if any, value…

1. Self promotion – How great you are, how fabulous your presentation was, the awards you won. (Unless tweeted by someone other than you)

2. Requests to vote for you so that you can win the above mentioned awards. (Doesn’t canvassing for votes render awards meaningless?)

3. Your minute by minute life updates – where you went, what you ate, how far you ran…

4. Your kids’ minute by minute life updates – where they went, what they ate, how far they ran (even if accompanied by cute pictures).

5. Your popularity on Twitter – how many new followers you have this week, how many RTs, the extent of your reach (whatever that means).

6. Endless tweets with beautiful pictures and quotes about education, leadership or life. (Rather share your own experience and reflections on these topics)

7. Endless retweets of above mentioned posters with beautiful pictures and quotes….

8. Infographics that are more graphic and less info, often not proof read, not thought through and not particularly useful. (Looking good isn’t enough)

9. Lists of 100 best anythings (tools, blogs, ideas, lessons). Who has time to read all that? Did you read all 100 links before you tweeted?

10. This one’s yours. Anything to add?

22 thoughts on “10 tweets that don’t add value…

  1. Interesting post Edna. Really has me reflecting. Not sure what I would add. I am just interested in 6, the pics one. I am guilty? of doing that. However, to me it is my ‘experience’, it is what I have read, what I thought was important. Often I created them myself. Although I try and spend the time to find pictures to match the words, I sometimes just resort to Quozio.com. I wonder then if it is more complicated than ‘pictures’. Anyway, will continue to reflect.

    Like

    1. I find your tweets varied and interesting, Aaron! Creating your own thoughtful combinations of meaningful quotes and relevant images can be valuable… I just choose to unfollow those who tweet and retweet an endless stream of quotes and nothing else.

      Like

  2. Id like to see the media NOT using Twitter as a way to be the first to break news which is often inaccurate of just plain false AND get their info via Twitter. Its one thing for individual to report on things but the ‘News’ really needs to check on facts before reporting. Take the recent AirAsia crash for instance. So much misinformation which does more harm than good. Edna as always great post. Thanks

    Like

  3. Your opinion is certainly your own, but as far as I’m concerned, people can use Twitter for whatever they want. If you don’t like their posts, don’t judge them, just don’t follow them–that’s the beauty of the medium. Me, I like many of the things on your list, and find that any of them can “push my thinking” if I bother to try.

    Like

    1. Of course. My opinion can only be my own🙂
      People can indeed use Twitter for whatever they like and everyone is free to choose to follow those who contribute to their particular needs and interests. I’m not judging anyone, just sharing my opinion on the sorts of tweets that add less value for me.
      For me, it depends on the quality. For instance every infographic shared by @langwitches is thoughtful, appealing and useful!

      Like

  4. Tweets that tell me my RT tweets have appeared in paper.li/blah. So what? It’s the author who should be getting any credit! Does anyone actually read these paper.li/blah pages anyway? If I want news/articles/references/conversations etc I can find it all on Twitter!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Astonishes me that anyone would (read ) – I find paper.li to be the strangest aggregation of content and unbelievably difficult to navigate
        I’d be interested to know from someone who is a creator as to what their motivations are and who they expect their audience to be

        Like

        1. I have a Paper-li Jan. My intention was to capture all of the different #VICPLN blogs each week (http://wp.me/p5vNSR-1g). It is not a daily one. I put in every blog that I could find. Do I ever really look at it? Not really. It was more of an experiment to be honest. I think I prefer the idea of syndication, but never actually investigated it. Hope that helps.

          Like

  5. My pet Twitter peeves – people who repeatedly post links to the same posts on every few hours or links to stuff they wrote from years ago. Wasn’t it better when we subscribed via RSS to get updates from our favourite blogs?

    Also people that online share their own writing and not that of others.

    The great thing about Twitter is you can unfollow people who don’t add value to your learning.

    Like

  6. Great and timely post, thanks.
    I’d add: Live tweets from conferences and events must acknowledge the speaker, so that their findings or thoughts don’t get attributed to the tweeter in the audience instead; and live conference tweets need to provide context so they don’t render the speaker’s words meaningless or inane eg “Educate! Innovate! Inspire! #elearning #edtech” (I just made that one up, but I’m sure you know what I mean). It’s not easy, but it is possible.
    And my current bugbear is tweets that are nothing but a link and a series of hashtags. Some important hashtags are being diluted by people using them for any old thing. They aren’t fairy dust.
    Many of the above comments point to the same conclusions you draw: add value, add thoughts, provide context, have conversations, choose hashtags wisely, don’t be annoying. Don’t confuse professional and personal profiles.
    Simple, really, and as Stephanie says it’s easy to unfollow anyone who doesn’t actually give us what we need.
    Twitter is such a powerful tool for professional learning and networking, and we can adjust it to provide the people and information flow that suits us. Magic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

