Do you doubt you have anything to offer?

I start today’s collaborative planning session asking each of the teachers to share what strengths they think they bring to the new team. (Two have worked together for years, one started this year and one will join the team in the new year.) People are reluctant to share what they see as their own strengths and, instead, they each take a turn to say what they think the others bring the team, which is delightfully affirming.

Do you doubt you have anything to offer?

We’re excited to be organising Unleashing Learning, a conference by educators for educators, the success of which (among other things!) will depend on our own and other teachers presenting workshops. What’s becoming apparent is that there are excellent educators who doubt they have anything to offer. They measure themselves against others and judge themselves as inadequate. Is this you?

Are you ready to share…?

4 thoughts on “Do you doubt you have anything to offer?

  1. Love, love, LOVE THIS! I was just saying this to my idol, my guru, my mentor, my I want to be you one day friend! She is brilliant and thinks things I would NEVER come up with. And she replied with “I feel the same way about you.” Then it occurred to me; this is what makes us such great co-workers! We compliment each other perfectly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

