I hate technology!

There are days when I hate technology!

i hate technology

If you know me at all or have been reading this blog for a while, you will know how much I enjoy blogging and that I constantly praise Twitter as a source of ongoing PD for educators.  I enjoy experimenting with new web 2.0 tools and using technology to engage students and enhance learning in my class and at my school.  I am a big proponent of flattening classroom walls and using Skype to make worldwide connections.  So why do I say I hate technology??

I currently have no computer at school. My laptop went in for repair and I may as well not have the replacement, since the wireless doesn’t work in my office and the wired network on my level of the building has died (they are waiting for a part).

I needed to scan a picture today and 2 different scanners are not working, since the computers were re-imaged during the holidays and everything that goes with that!

I wanted to use Voki today, which had worked well at home and suited the purpose of my lesson, but for some reason, it would not load at school.

I could go on and on… but I have to go and see why my document won’t print.

5 thoughts on “I hate technology!

  1. YOU LOVE TECHNOLOGY! I’m sure the two of you will make up soon… Your lap top will return, the wireless will apologize and repair itself and you will be singing (tweeting, blogging or what-ever-ing) technology’s praises on the internet once again 🙂

    Like

  2. I think it’s fantastic that you hate technology Ed . . . at least in the way you mean here. Your frustration stems from the fact that tech is now completely embedded in what you do and how you do it; that’s marvellous! A consequence however is that we have to do our best to ensure that the tech is as reliable as it possibly can be and is well supported (and also recognise that there will still be (hopefully rare) occasions when we have to flip to Plan B)

    (Glad things are back to normal – https://whatedsaid.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/i-love-technology/)

    Like

  3. And this is exactly why all teachers are hesitant to fully integrate technology. There are still times when it is unreliable. I have learned to always have a plan B. I have gotten very good at changing plans on the fly. Sometimes the plan B is exactly what is supposed to happen, learning ends up being richer and students learn the valuable lesson of flexibility and creativity. Hang in there, you will love technology again!

    Like

Leave a comment