Does your practice align with your beliefs?

The power of filming and then watching yourself teach has become evident during our coaching and growth review processes. What did you notice? What are the patterns?  What do they make you think? What surprised you? Does what you see yourself doing match what you think you do?

On a larger scale, having educators from other schools visit us in the past few weeks has provided a similar opportunity. Viewing ourselves through the eyes of others and becoming aware of different perspectives has been both validating and enlightening. In the process of planning for and evaluating the visits and observing our school’s practice through a different lens, we have asked ourselves the same sorts of questions. Does our practice align with our beliefs about learning?

Some years ago we spent time collaboratively developing a set of learning principles that encapsulate our beliefs about how learning best takes place. Since then we have worked at deepening understanding of these principles and ensuring that they underpin every decision we make in regard to learning within our school. 

Our learning principles:

  • We learn in different ways, depending on abilities, preferences and interests.
  • Learning takes place through inquiry: questioning, exploring, experimenting and problem solving.
  • Learning includes acquisition of skills and knowledge, constructing meaning and transfer to different contexts.
  • Learning is active and social and is enhanced by collaboration and interaction.
  • Learners need to feel secure, valued and able to take risks.
  • Learning needs to be challenging, meaningful, purposeful and engaging.
  • Learning includes meta-cognition and reflection, which support learners taking ownership of their learning.

Developing learning principles is the easy part.

How do you ensure that practice aligns with beliefs?

Initially this reflection led me to thinking about the barriers; factors that are often out of my/ our/ sometimes-even-the-school’s control, but I’ve started building a list of things that are working well so we can consider how to amplify those. (This is the influence that exploring coaching has had on my thinking. I can even coach myself now!)

As educators we live the learning principles ourselves through…

How does your school ensure that your practice aligns with your beliefs?

6 thoughts on “Does your practice align with your beliefs?

  1. I have just started a PGCEi and so self-reflection will be a big part of my year, in the past I have felt very stressed when our head teachers watching my lesson, now I think it will be a good thing as it will help me become a better educator!

    Like

  2. Thank you for the wonderful post. The Learning Principles link takes me back to 2010 and the others remind me of your journey. It brings to mind : Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.- Mahatma Gandhi

    Like

  3. In my first year of teaching I used to watch a teacher TV program from the UK. Teachers were filmed teaching a lesson in the classroom then sat with a mentor to watch and reflect on their teaching. It inspired me to film myself in my classroom. It was so hard to watch myself. However it was a very eye opening experience and one I should consider doing again, if I dare! Thanks for the link love.

    Like

Leave a comment